Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Inspire 1 battery mod: never ending crusade ...

Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Age
28
I've just been buying these. And replacing the cells. I don't really care much about the battery counter, by not resetting it will I run into an issue? not sure


Also is it obvious to me that there are some folks selling battery replacements for 500+ dollars, who do full counter resets, different capacity sizes. etc. They all seem to be using PHẦN MỀM VÀ DỤNG CỤ SỬA CHỮA - REGEDIT GROUP , as the tool to crack the passkey.. as this BMS is not specific to just DJI stuff, not legal of course...

Disclaimer: Do so at your own risk, li-ion packs are very explosive and dangerous if not handled correctly. You will need a proper soldering iron, skills and a basic understanding of electricity/batteries to complete this swap.

I have bought 2x of the "TB48" cell packs from the aliexpress seller and transplanted them to my old TB47 heads, so far the Inspire will report proper voltage on all 6 cells (these packs are 6S1P cells instead of the original 6S2P setup). I haven't tried to fly the thing yet as it's cold and snowy outside lately.

Some things to note if anyone wants to attempt it, the first time you power on the aircraft the battery will report whatever the last cell pack you swapped out had % wise. (For example, 0% if last cells were completely flat) but the cells will report proper voltage (eg. 4.01V). You will need to keep the aircraft on to drain the cells down to 3.2V then charge it to full to reset the % gauge.

One more thing is since I do not have the tools to reprogram the head, the battery will still report "Broken Cells" in the advanced menu, but so far does not seem to stop me from taking off and flying. Also, the mAh rating will no longer be accurate as the new cells are of different capacities compared to stock cells.

I did keep the black battery label as they are actually made out of metal and can help dissipate heat and protect the cells.
20220125_213937.jpg

20220125_220031.jpg

Screenshot_20220118-105759.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2017
Messages
311
Reaction score
132
Age
58
Disclaimer: Do so at your own risk, li-ion packs are very explosive and dangerous if not handled correctly. You will need a proper soldering iron, skills and a basic understanding of electricity/batteries to complete this swap.

I have bought 2x of the "TB48" cell packs from the aliexpress seller and transplanted them to my old TB47 heads, so far the Inspire will report proper voltage on all 6 cells (these packs are 6S1P cells instead of the original 6S2P setup). I haven't tried to fly the thing yet as it's cold and snowy outside lately.

Some things to note if anyone wants to attempt it, the first time you power on the aircraft the battery will report whatever the last cell pack you swapped out had % wise. (For example, 0% if last cells were completely flat) but the cells will report proper voltage (eg. 4.01V). You will need to keep the aircraft on to drain the cells down to 3.2V then charge it to full to reset the % gauge.

One more thing is since I do not have the tools to reprogram the head, the battery will still report "Broken Cells" in the advanced menu, but so far does not seem to stop me from taking off and flying. Also, the mAh rating will no longer be accurate as the new cells are of different capacities compared to stock cells.

I did keep the black battery label as they are actually made out of metal and can help dissipate heat and protect the cells.
20220125_213937.jpg

20220125_220031.jpg

Screenshot_20220118-105759.png
well thats a problem, "still report "Broken Cells" in the advanced menu, but so far does not seem to stop me from taking off and flying. Also, the mAh rating will no longer be accurate as the new cells are of different capacities compared to stock cells."

the apps use the telemetry data for landing and return home safely, if they dont function, you could land in a lake when cells show not enough MAH to get home, there a alot of issues with that, a reprogram or reset would be best options on those cell packs
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Age
28
well thats a problem, "still report "Broken Cells" in the advanced menu, but so far does not seem to stop me from taking off and flying. Also, the mAh rating will no longer be accurate as the new cells are of different capacities compared to stock cells."

the apps use the telemetry data for landing and return home safely, if they dont function, you could land in a lake when cells show not enough MAH to get home, there a alot of issues with that, a reprogram or reset would be best options on those cell packs
for sure I would never trust these transplanted batteries as they are now, most likely just going to be a very short flight and over flat ground and low attitude. I saw your videos and may be interested in getting a test run of the programmer to reset the head and set the proper values.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2017
Messages
311
Reaction score
132
Age
58
Design #3 try to make tighter wire connections IMG_5044.JPG
 

Attachments

  • IMG_5053.JPG
    IMG_5053.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_5052.JPG
    IMG_5052.JPG
    2.4 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_5051.JPG
    IMG_5051.JPG
    3 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_5050.JPG
    IMG_5050.JPG
    2.7 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_5049.JPG
    IMG_5049.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_5048.JPG
    IMG_5048.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_5047.JPG
    IMG_5047.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_5046.JPG
    IMG_5046.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_5045.JPG
    IMG_5045.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 6
Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Age
51
Guys, I've resoldered about 10x TB47, and after some poking on GitHub, smart guys seem to state the BMS do not set a permanent won't-work flag on battery failure. Meaning, upon fresh cells, it's happy, and after cycling, it sets new total energy. It's my impression too; not one of those 10x TB has an upset BMS. Charge count stays though. Any other conclusions here? Sorry if I've missed it. Cheers /Peter
 
  • Like
Reactions: mrpackethead
Joined
May 29, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
4
Age
51
Guys, I've resoldered about 10x TB47, and after some poking on GitHub, smart guys seem to state the BMS do not set a permanent won't-work flag on battery failure. Meaning, upon fresh cells, it's happy, and after cycling, it sets new total energy. It's my impression too; not one of those 10x TB has an upset BMS. Charge count stays though. Any other conclusions here? Sorry if I've missed it. Cheers /Peter
Which repo in github? Really curious.. I have about 20 Batterys in various states and 4 Inspire1s four our fishing and they are epic, but i need a battery solution!
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2017
Messages
311
Reaction score
132
Age
58
Which repo in github? Really curious.. I have about 20 Batterys in various states and 4 Inspire1s four our fishing and they are epic, but i need a battery solution!
 
Joined
May 29, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
4
Age
51
Joined
May 29, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
4
Age
51
for sure I would never trust these transplanted batteries as they are now, most likely just going to be a very short flight and over flat ground and low attitude. I saw your videos and may be interested in getting a test run of the programmer to reset the head and set the proper values.

I'm not looking for extending flight times. I dont' want to carry any extra weight, in fact if anything i' stripping weight off, as i use these for doing fishing.. Typical flight times only run 3-4 minutes..
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2017
Messages
311
Reaction score
132
Age
58
I'm not looking for extending flight times. I dont' want to carry any extra weight, in fact if anything i' stripping weight off, as i use these for doing fishing.. Typical flight times only run 3-4 minutes..
what exactly are you looking for on GIT-hub ?????
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2017
Messages
311
Reaction score
132
Age
58
Guys, I've resoldered about 10x TB47, and after some poking on GitHub, smart guys seem to state the BMS do not set a permanent won't-work flag on battery failure. Meaning, upon fresh cells, it's happy, and after cycling, it sets new total energy. It's my impression too; not one of those 10x TB has an upset BMS. Charge count stays though. Any other conclusions here? Sorry if I've missed it. Cheers /Peter
there still is a trick to reset the inspire 1 BMS, sometime your lucky and it starts up, sometimes not, all i know is the minute you disconnect the balance leads form the battery you put it into SS hardware failure, yes PF may not pop up, PF is for low or bad cells, is there a way to program a bms for free.......i dont think so..ive been working on inspire batteries for years now...even guys buying those un_branded cell packs from CHE_NA are getting bad temp and MAH levels and need to be calibrated
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2017
Messages
311
Reaction score
132
Age
58
Which repo in github? Really curious.. I have about 20 Batterys in various states and 4 Inspire1s four our fishing and they are epic, but i need a battery solution!
i need to know what you are looking for on GITHUB its a big universe, what is happing with your batteries, and what does epic mean, the inspire batteries Never got the flytime even that DJI advertised , its a big bird
 

New Threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
21,695
Messages
207,234
Members
31,693
Latest member
Johnnieyaz