Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Inspire 1 v2 Compass calibration

Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
25
Hi, new to the forum and have a question. I own a P4 and i only ever calibrate the compass if it ever asks me to (rarely) but i recently purchased the inspire 1 v2 and have seen people calibrate them every flight. Is this something that has to be done for the inspire? Any help would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
235
Reaction score
53
Calibrating the compass takes no time at all and I personally do it every time.
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,306
Reaction score
5,413
Hi, new to the forum and have a question. I own a P4 and i only ever calibrate the compass if it ever asks me to (rarely) but i recently purchased the inspire 1 v2 and have seen people calibrate them every flight. Is this something that has to be done for the inspire? Any help would be appreciated.
No - it doesn't have to be done every flight. In fact you shouldn't....it increases the chances of getting a bad calibration.


Lots of threads already on the subject if you use the search feature.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
235
Reaction score
53
If I flew every day then I would not caibrate....but since I fly about 1 time a week I do it.
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
303
Reaction score
81
Age
58
I don’t know how long it’s been since I’ve done a calibration that should tell you something.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
1,278
Reaction score
537
Age
57
Hi, new to the forum and have a question. I own a P4 and i only ever calibrate the compass if it ever asks me to (rarely) but i recently purchased the inspire 1 v2 and have seen people calibrate them every flight. Is this something that has to be done for the inspire? Any help would be appreciated.
I've been flying mine for years and only calibrate it if I move it an appreciable distance...like to another state. Even then, it doesn't ask to be calibrated or net any calibration errors. Otherwise, I can go months and dozens of flights without calibration.

D
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
160
Reaction score
32
Age
71
Location
Montreal
Website
www.photoimagerie.com
the I1Pro seems to require compass calibration if you change your launch point by more than about 30 kms. Calibrating is easy and safe but just make sure you are well clear of any possible magnetic field disrupters like cast iron, concrete with iron bracing Or high energy transmitters. Just go into the middle of a field.
 
Joined
May 25, 2018
Messages
60
Reaction score
11
Age
63
the I1Pro seems to require compass calibration if you change your launch point by more than about 30 kms. Calibrating is easy and safe but just make sure you are well clear of any possible magnetic field disrupters like cast iron, concrete with iron bracing Or high energy transmitters. Just go into the middle of a field.
"Seems to require ...." Curious as to how this info was arrived at? Do you calibration or interference errors when you move "30km"? Thanks ...
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
160
Reaction score
32
Age
71
Location
Montreal
Website
www.photoimagerie.com
I’m sure I saw this in some DJI info but dont have time to research this at the moment. I have two I1Ps since 2015 & used them a lot for work until last year. Generally I found compass calibration was needed if the home point was a good distance from previously set. But as stated above, you must find a location away from potential magnetic interference in order to do a successful compass calibration. I’ve occasionally had calibration errors & interference warnings but now I put all mobile devices into Airplane mode and move to a location away from anything that might interfere. Once I got the error & realized I was standing close to a cast iron septic tank cover. I moved away & no problem calibrating normally. In case it’s not clear, never fly unless the compass is properly calibrated, having experienced a compass error once, it was very close to being disastrous.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
160
Reaction score
32
Age
71
Location
Montreal
Website
www.photoimagerie.com
"Seems to require ...." in case this is not obvious, compass calibration is indicated in the Go App under Aircraft Status although part of my standard checklist is to go to Main Controller Settings<Advanced Settings<Sensors and verify the stats of both the IMU and Compass
 
Joined
May 25, 2018
Messages
60
Reaction score
11
Age
63
"Seems to require ...." in case this is not obvious, compass calibration is indicated in the Go App under Aircraft Status although part of my standard checklist is to go to Main Controller Settings<Advanced Settings<Sensors and verify the stats of both the IMU and Compass
Exactly my point, ...compass (and IMU) calibration can be over done and cause other errors. The general consensus for the past several years - as I have witnessed - is that compass calibration is not desirable unless you are going to be flying with a significant change in geographic location (say in the hundreds of miles). I have 8 drones, 3 of which are DJI (2 P3Ps and an I1 v2) and between the 3 of them, they total 3 different compass calibrations since 2016 when I got the first P3P. The whole point, as I understand it, of a calibration is to provide STATIC information that can consistently assist in GPS functionality. Re-calibrating often will undermine the static nature of this process is how I understand it. I suppose its only a matter of time, but I've not had any fly-aways, dumps, spills or crashes with those 3 birds. I did recently have a failed calibration but learned it was because I was attempting to fly from a cement picnic table loaded with rebar.

Good luck, stay safe and stay home!
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
25
Exactly my point, ...compass (and IMU) calibration can be over done and cause other errors. The general consensus for the past several years - as I have witnessed - is that compass calibration is not desirable unless you are going to be flying with a significant change in geographic location (say in the hundreds of miles). I have 8 drones, 3 of which are DJI (2 P3Ps and an I1 v2) and between the 3 of them, they total 3 different compass calibrations since 2016 when I got the first P3P. The whole point, as I understand it, of a calibration is to provide STATIC information that can consistently assist in GPS functionality. Re-calibrating often will undermine the static nature of this process is how I understand it. I suppose its only a matter of time, but I've not had any fly-aways, dumps, spills or crashes with those 3 birds. I did recently have a failed calibration but learned it was because I was attempting to fly from a cement picnic table loaded with rebar.

Good luck, stay safe and stay home!
Thats the way i understood it from using the phantom 4, if a compass error occurs on the ground and it asks me to calibrate the compass i move the uav away wait and see if the error leaves (generally due to interference) and its all good. The manual for the I1 also states to only calibrate when it asks it self to, so I might stick with that for the time being.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
20,364
Messages
197,470
Members
29,903
Latest member
rotorfan