Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Shoot Stills while recording movie

Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Age
49
Since there is two buttons is it possible to shot a still while there is a movie recording.

I assume it's the same as the Phantom and you need to stop recording movie, shoot still, start recording movie.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2014
Messages
64
Reaction score
12
Yeah not a feature i like... Look at the hero4. Shoots in 4k and takes still every few seconds, so why cant this be integrated in to this camera?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
95
Reaction score
29
You can always pull stills from the Video. If you are shooting in 4k I imagine the quality would be pretty good.

Richie
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Age
49
I'm an amateur photographer so I prefer largest image size but that is a definite possibility.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
71
Reaction score
35
That's exactly what I do. I shoot in 4k and pull the stills from that using Premier Pro.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
46
Reaction score
8
I pull stills from QuickTime. Do any of you know what the equivalent shot I get this way versus taking a still? In other words, how many megapixels does it equal.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2014
Messages
196
Reaction score
59
Location
Copenhagen - Denmark
Website
www.airflix.dk
A screen grab (grabbing or pulling a still from a video clip) will never be as good quality as a photo taken in camera mode. But if you don't care too much about image quality it is an easy way to do it.

File sizes (depending on various shooting conditions like light, subject, movement etc.) are around:
  • 5MB - JPG
  • 25MB - DNG
  • 10MB - Screengrab
So even if screengrabs (grabbed or pulled from a video clip) are lower quality, they are much bigger in file size than JPG's.

Remember, FILE SIZE, is not equal to PIXEL SIZE.

I pull stills from QuickTime. Do any of you know what the equivalent shot I get this way versus taking a still? In other words, how many megapixels does it equal.

You get the same amount of pixels as the video setting shows. But of a lower quality than the camera produces. PS: remember screengrabs are blurred if there's movement in the subject or camera, so ideally take a grab from a calm scene with the camera steady.

Updated: specified that when talking about "screen grabs", I was referring to grabbing a still from a video clip, not a regular screen grab, since not all got that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 13, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
9
Age
54
Location
Hawkes Bay , New Zealand
Website
www.tim.co.nz
A screen grab will never be as good quality as a photo taken in camera mode. But if you don't care too much about image quality it is an easy way to do it.

File sizes (depending on various shooting conditions like light, subject, movement etc.) are around:
  • 5MB - JPG
  • 25MB - DNG
  • 10MB - Screengrab
So even if screengrabs are lower quality, they are much bigger in file size than JPG's.

Remember, FILE SIZE, is not equal to PIXEL SIZE.

I pull stills from QuickTime. Do any of you know what the equivalent shot I get this way versus taking a still? In other words, how many megapixels does it equal.

You get the same amount of pixels as the video setting shows. But of a lower quality than the camera produces. PS: remember screengrabs are blurred if there's movement in the subject or camera, so ideally take a grab from a calm scene with the camera steady.
Screen grabs and "pulling a still" are VERY different. One grabs the image you have on your monitor and the other captures a single frame
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,722
Messages
192,877
Members
29,094
Latest member
DALF80