Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Film Making and 30fps and 60fps? Yikes!

rmb

Reaction score
Website
overexposures.net
I love my Inspire 1 and have made great money with it. I also love my phantom 4. And, like many of you out there I have a Mavic on order as I travel a great deal. Now back to my concern. The I2 and P4 Pro look amazing. They boast 5k at 30 and 4k at 60. I have some concerns that perhaps someone can shed light on. As a videographer I work with small and large production companies. Every one of them request a 24p (or 23.98) frame rate (usually with a 180 degree shutter) On 2 occasions in the distant past I mistakenly shot at 29.98 and had to do a complete re-shoot as there is no way that I am aware of in post to consistently convert 29.97 to 23.98 with out either slowing the footage down slightly or if you want to keep frame accurate syncing noticeably seeing that every 5th frame is being dropped. With busy scenes you can get away with it, but NOT with smooth dolly shots and slow smooth drone moves. Also the touch focus is nice, but does anyone know if that can be over ridden to be a fixed focal length with a larger fixed aperture when you want everything to be crisp? I just shot a wonderful scene using my P4 doing a slow lift to emulate a typical crane shot to reveal 2 people standing on an old stone bridge. I fear that with either auto focus or touch-to-focus this shot would have been very challenging as a single operator if not impossible.
Here is a vimeo link of that small clip if my description was not clear.

Thanks in advance for input.
Fly Safe!!!

Robert

Bridge Vimeo Link

Reactions: Phatzo