Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Is it safe to use a battery after a crash

Reaction score
So I am a new pilot and have about 10 hours on the sticks. On 1/7 I was flying on a beautiful winter day and lost my I1 in the sun. Thinking I was higher than I was and flying away from the sun I clipped a branch and my bird fell about 80 feet and landed in some grass. It suffered a broken arm and some other damage. I sent it to DJI on the 18th for repair and after paying $350 should be getting it back next week. I'm very excited to get back on the sticks a little poorer and hopefully wiser. My question is should I use the battery that was in the bird when it crashed? It seems to be completely intact. No swelling and it auto-discharged to 60% as I should. I just have always read how volatile these batteries can be. It is a TB48. What do you all say?

Reactions: jlrsn
Here are the considerations from my perspective:

In general, we go by the rule of a dropped lipo is a dead lipo. We have sold a lot of the Tattu brand batteries over the years and until the recent "smart" version of their batteries were released, the flight batteries never had any protection to them. The new ones have their corners and edges protected - much better for velcro strap tightening and being handled in general. DJI batteries are enclosed with some protection for the cells as well. This lowers the risk of having any minor cell damage from the fall...but because they are smart batteries with little circuit boards in them you have the risk of a hairline crack to the board or some other non lipo cell damage that might show up right now - or maybe later when the copter is vibrating a little or fighting some wind.