Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Phantom 3 Standard with follow me, point of interest and waypoints...

Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
946
Reaction score
264
Age
37
Location
Hungary
Website
www.phat.hu
now that sucks... doesn't it... thank god the I1 is way lot better in wind and faster...
come on DJI... what is with the firmware (latest) NOT working with SDK???
please fix the issue and then release new stuff...
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
2
Age
46
now that sucks... doesn't it... thank god the I1 is way lot better in wind and faster...
come on DJI... what is with the firmware (latest) NOT working with SDK???
please fix the issue and then release new stuff...
I haven't updated yet, what's going on with fw?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
51
Reaction score
22
Age
33
Location
Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
Just saw this on FB and was merrily watching the video thinking 'oh fair enough, looks quite good for an entry level model' then saw the automated flight modes and thought WTF. They better add these modes to the I1 (and P3) very very soon or I for one will be fuming.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
51
Reaction score
22
Age
33
Location
Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
I commented on their video on FB, got this response direct from the horse's mouth (or the marketing person who works on Wednesdays). There's light at the end of the tunnel. Guess we just have to carry on waiting...

IMG_0843.PNG
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
37
I think the waypoints and associated features have something to do with the Wifi connection between the mobile device and the controller. The Inspire 1 and Phantom 3 connect via a cable, whereas the older Phantom 2 Vision plus has had the waypoints feature for a long time now, which also connects via wifi, like this new Phantom 3 Standard.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
397
Reaction score
244
Age
41
I think the waypoints and associated features have something to do with the Wifi connection between the mobile device and the controller. The Inspire 1 and Phantom 3 connect via a cable, whereas the older Phantom 2 Vision plus has had the waypoints feature for a long time now, which also connects via wifi, like this new Phantom 3 Standard.
BS. Third party developers are able to solve the issue so why can't DJI.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Age
37
BS. Third party developers are able to solve the issue so why can't DJI.
Yes, eventually DJI too will, very soon. Since they already had the technology for the wifi solution, they made it available for the Phantom 3 Standard. The Lightbridge versions will follow soon.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
801
Reaction score
240
Age
40
the p3 only has a half mile range? i thought it was supposed to be the same as the inspire?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2015
Messages
61
Reaction score
23
Age
53
Location
Amstelveen
Website
www.HobbyPiloot.NL
P3 Standard is not using Lightbridge but an straight forward amplified WIFI signal. In EU strict laws apply with regards to 2.4 Ghz wifi data strength, hence 500 meter will the be max for the P3 Standard. In the USA the max distance will be greater.

With regards to Waypoints and Follow me; As with the other DJI Drones, this feature will be "coming soon" for Phantom 3 Standard. The feature will likely be offered by the DJI GO app. The only difference that i expect for each drone type is the number of waypoints for Inspire will be greater than for Phantom.

If you can't wait for DJI, temporarily go for Autopilot 2.0 App; it offers Orbit (ie. IOC-POI) and Follow-me and works with the recent 1.3 Firmware (see: http://autoflightlogic.com/beta/autopilotdji)
 
  • Like
Reactions: SultanGris
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
801
Reaction score
240
Age
40
P3 Standard is not using Lightbridge but an straight forward amplified WIFI signal. In EU strict laws apply with regards to 2.4 Ghz wifi data strength, hence 500 meter will the be max for the P3 Standard. In the USA the max distance will be greater.

With regards to Waypoints and Follow me; As with the other DJI Drones, this feature will be "coming soon" for Phantom 3 Standard. The feature will likely be offered by the DJI GO app. The only difference that i expect for each drone type is the number of waypoints for Inspire will be greater than for Phantom.

If you can't wait for DJI, temporarily go for Autopilot 2.0 App; it offers Orbit (ie. IOC-POI) and Follow-me and works with the recent 1.3 Firmware (see: http://autoflightlogic.com/beta/autopilotdji)
Ok thanks. Didn't even occur to me they would go back to that crappy wifi setup, avoid at all costs, lol
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
171
Reaction score
55
Location
Connecticut, USA
The P3 standard is a repackaged P2 from what I see. Same crappy WiFi connection for video. Sounds like DJI is using it to get rid of inventory of P2 parts. At least that's my opinion.
 
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
77
Reaction score
25
Age
68
Location
Medford, Oregon
The P3 standard is a repackaged P2 from what I see. Same crappy WiFi connection for video. Sounds like DJI is using it to get rid of inventory of P2 parts. At least that's my opinion.
It has been posted previously, that the P3S is completely redesigned inside, and is not P2 parts. It is offered as an entry level machine.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,510
Messages
191,175
Members
28,859
Latest member
Locomotive engineer