Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Weak Signal at close range

Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Age
48
Forgive me if I missed it, but I'm new here and couldn't find a post on this.

I went flying with my buddy on Sunday. He's flying a Phantom 2+ and I'm flying my I1. I'd get about 300' up and about 400' away and get "weak signal" warnings on my app and the picture would flicker or drop out. It got especially bad if I stood anywhere near my buddy to see what he was seeing on his screen. His Phantom never gave him any problems at any distance or when I would stand near him.

Ideas?
 
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
28
First of all always keep RC antennas paraller to the I1 ones. In previous versions of Pilot App there is option to choose custom channel so You can use the best one. In the newest one there is only auto.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Age
48
Mine were parallel. Do you mean keep HIS antennas parallel to mine? I was standing next to him facing the same direction, but I didn't pay attention to what direction his antennas were facing.
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,014
Reaction score
5,258
First of all always keep RC antennas paraller to the I1 ones. In previous versions of Pilot App there is option to choose custom channel so You can use the best one. In the newest one there is only auto.
No there isn't. Custom channel selection is still there in Android v1.2.0.
 

Nic

Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
30
Reaction score
8
Age
37
I was shooting a job today and had the same experience.. Except I was the ONLY bird around.. The video signal was lagging so badly I really couldn't even film. Then when my batt reached the RTH level, it was lagging so badly I was unable to cancel the RTH function and my inspire climbed to my RTH height . I was in the process of landing her so I am lucky there weren't any trees nearby.. This is unacceptable! The **** thing operated better the first 45 flights. COME ON DJI GET IT TOGETHER
 
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
28
Mine were parallel. Do you mean keep HIS antennas parallel to mine? I was standing next to him facing the same direction, but I didn't pay attention to what direction his antennas were facing.
Paraller to Your I1 antennas (mounted in the legs of the quad)
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,014
Reaction score
5,258
I did but there is nothing more.
That's very strange. I have literally 10 minutes ago used custom channel (20) on my own Inspire.
I would uninstall and reinstall the app if I were you.
Just to be sure...... You are running android yes?
 
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
28
That's very strange. I have literally 10 minutes ago used custom channel (20) on my own Inspire.
I would uninstall and reinstall the app if I were you.
Just to be sure...... You are running android yes?
I am running the latest AOSP GROGGS WAY ROM Lolipop 5.1.1.
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,014
Reaction score
5,258
I am running the latest AOSP GROGGS WAY ROM Lolipop 5.1.1.
Yup, running 5.1 on an Nvidia Shield here. All working fine and can select custom channel freely.
Maybe something quirky with your DJI Pilot install.
 
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
28
Yup, running 5.1 on an Nvidia Shield here. All working fine and can select custom channel freely.
Maybe something quirky with your DJI Pilot install.
I have three ROMs on my Nexus 7 2013 LTE. I have just checked that on KitKat SLIMROM there is no custom option too. On the third ROM (Lolipop 5.1.1) I have an ancient version 1.03 of the Pilot App and I have no problem with selection custom option.
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,014
Reaction score
5,258
I have three ROMs on my Nexus 7 2013 LTE. I have just checked that on KitKat SLIMROM there is no custom option too. On the third ROM (Lolipop 5.1.1) I have an ancient version 1.03 of the Pilot App and I have no problem with selection custom option.
Hmmmm.....well I can definitely confirm custom option is still available on v1.2.0 so has to be something with your set up.
 
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
28
That's very strange. I have literally 10 minutes ago used custom channel (20) on my own Inspire.
I would uninstall and reinstall the app if I were you.
Just to be sure...... You are running android yes?
I reinstalled the last version but nothing has changed. Then I installed the previous version and custom option is back. Here is the proove:
 

Attachments

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,014
Reaction score
5,258
I reinstalled the last version but nothing has changed. Then I installed the previous version and custom option is back. Here is the proove:
I believe you but it is something unique to your set up.
Custom channel option has not been removed in the most recent version of the Pilot app.
 
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
28
I believe you but it is something unique to your set up.
Custom channel option has not been removed in the most recent version of the Pilot app.
I have found the solution. The only Android's ROM that works flawlessly with new Pilot App is OMNI ROM 4.4.4. build KTU 84P. Now I have the ability to select custom mode. I will check if the ROM is resistant to the crashing Pilot App issue.
 

Attachments

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,014
Reaction score
5,258
I have found the solution. The only Android's ROM that works flawlessly with new Pilot App is OMNI ROM 4.4.4. build KTU 84P. Now I have the ability to select custom mode. I will check if the ROM is resistant to the crashing Pilot App issue.
OK, I am glad you found a solution but why is it running flawlessly for me WITH custom channels available on v5.1 Lollipop?
 
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
28
OK, I am glad you found a solution but why is it running flawlessly for me WITH custom channels available on v5.1 Lollipop?
Tell me please which build of LOLIPOP do You have? I have 5.1.1, compilation number LMY47Z and Kernel 3.4.0 ElementalX. IMHO Pilot App works flawlessly only on a specific Lolipop version.
 

Attachments

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,756
Messages
193,079
Members
29,125
Latest member
Sr.DiogoSilva