Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Dual operator Gimbal roll re-assign

Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
345
Reaction score
136
Location
South Florida
Hey everyone... I'm looking for a way to re assign the gimbal roll on the SLAVE controller only. I'd like to be able to have my cameraman control the gimbal roll with what would usually be the single operators camera tilt up/down dial on the upper left portion of the controller. Anyone know of a setting? Or should we ask nicely for DJI to give us the option to re assign knobs, buttons or dials beyond the C1 and C2 on the back...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
561
Reaction score
242
Age
32
Location
Seattle, Washington
Website
www.skylab-imaging.com
Click the RC icon (right of the flight status bar), open "RC Control Settings" ---Stick Mode----Than change the stick mode to a custom setup, if you're on an ipad you drag n' drop the arrow icons to where you want to assign them.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
345
Reaction score
136
Location
South Florida
Screenshots_2015-05-11-23-07-38.png I'm looking for something beyond those settings, that part is setup to my liking already. I'm trying to assign gimbal roll to the left dial on top of the controller, but only for the second controller the camera guy is using. This could all be done in the custom settings menu you referred to
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
673
Reaction score
276
This would be a fantastic improvement. Almost as good as fixing the horizon tilt problem in the first place.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Soflms
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
345
Reaction score
136
Location
South Florida
I really hope enough people can comment on this thread to make it happen in the next firmware update. I also wouldn't mind seeing an alarm or warning that your camera is still rolling if you disarm the motors. (as long as we can shut this option off, for those of us that use our inspire with no blades on like a ronin :rolleyes: )This would prevent anyone from turning the inspire off while its still recording, and ending up with a corrupt video file.

I looked but didn't see anything, Is there a thread of things we'd like to see improved on during the next firmware updates? DJI definitely hears the things said in these forums, especially though the mods. Correct me if i'm wrong? Like I said I looked and didn't see a thread based specifically on what improvements we'd like to see. I feel like walking on eggshells, seems the mods have been on a lockdown frenzy on the forums lately.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2014
Messages
3,460
Reaction score
1,675
Location
Boston, MA
I wish DJI would have their product managers watching forums and gathering feedback from customers, but frankly I just have no evidence to think that's happening.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Soflms
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
Indeed not possible at this point. But why don't you just map roll to a stick? Even better IMO, and possible already.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
345
Reaction score
136
Location
South Florida
Because then you need to assign cam tilt and yaw to a single stick. Nowhere near as smooth for camera movement. Hence the reason video game consoles have 2 sticks
 
  • Like
Reactions: Filsonian
Joined
May 8, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Age
38
View attachment 1670 I'm looking for something beyond those settings, that part is setup to my liking already. I'm trying to assign gimbal roll to the left dial on top of the controller, but only for the second controller the camera guy is using. This could all be done in the custom settings menu you referred to
I would leave also really like to see this option!
 
Joined
May 8, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Age
38
Try this link in You Tube slow starting but shows you how to set up the slave TX.
That is great as far as set up goes, however I want my roll to be assigned to the finger left spring loaded finger wheel on the camera operators control. This is not an option as of yet, I hope it will be in future updates!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Soflms
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
198
Reaction score
47
Age
99
good idea, i have been advocating for more programming options for the inspire remote since day 1 and this is another good idea, less reliant on software for the human element to kick in and fix the problem manually, make it happen dji.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,717
Messages
192,831
Members
29,090
Latest member
Drnflyr