Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

What Video Mode?

Reaction score
I mainly use my Inspire 1 & 2 for photos, I'm a bit overwhelmed by the amount of video modes on the I2. I don't have the licence or SSD at the moment, I have the X5S with Olympus 12mm F2 lens. What video I do take I upload to my Vimeo site, what would be the best all round format for general use? I'm not a pro so exacting quality is not an issue. As you probably can tell I'm not a an expert by a long way, I use Premiere Elements 13 for editing and have an iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch) with 3.5 GHz Intel Core i5 processor and 32GB memory. As I said photos is my thing, all I need is a general video setting that will give an inexperienced user half decent results with little or no fine tweaking.
Thanks for any suggestions.

Les

I have been going through this recently and on a steep learning curve, still on this curve... so I am sure people who are more knowledgeable than me will also be along to help.

But this is what I have learnt so far:

There are a few basics to get right...

For now stick to H264 as H265 doesn't appear to be (well) natively supported and thus requires transcoding first.

Pick either 4K or 1080p, but remember that with 4K even if you don't want 4K video you can use this to crop/zoom in which is really useful.

Next is to decide on your shutter speed. If you are looking for a cinematic feel try 24FPS, but personally I find this too choppy when anything more than tiny movement is involved, so use 30FPS normally or 60FPS for sports (which gives buttery smooth shots and the added benefit of being able to slow down by 50% for slow mo shots).

Pick a suitable white balance, cloudy normally works quite well for me in the UK :)

You should really be shooting in manual mode which complicates things even more, but is worth it as the results will be better (in the end) and more importantly predictable. This avoids nasty exposure changes mid shoot.