Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Future upgrades

Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Age
36
I know many people are going to be doing real estate shots and stuff. I would like to see them impliment a way to switch to "precision control" mode where as it limits the sticks to about 20% of max. if you are flying in tight quarters it would lower the risk of the machine getting away from you
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
46
Reaction score
8
I think it would be awesome to have a simple, less-expensive dedicated controller for the camera instead of a duplicate controller.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
74
Reaction score
18
Age
102
Front (nose) sonar system with a distance display (as our cars do).
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
408
Reaction score
49
Location
Cleveland, OH
I wouldn't get too hopeful about a Ground Station being a guarantee, and most likely severely limited range if it does get released (<200m max). It seems like some of you think the White House incident in January was just a harmless accident by a drunk but I think the Feds sent a very stern message to DJI that they'd better lock down their products because future incidents that get blown up in the media will bring much harsher consequences for all involved (DJI and their customers alike). Secret Service is under a lot of criticism for security breaches and they won't take kindly to some tourist flying an autonomous Inspire 1 into Obama's bedroom window using waypoints!

I'd personally like to see an easy to way to dynamically switch control of an Inspire between two transmitters without having to land the bird or shut anything off. I explained in my other post some examples why this would be a great feature, and it would be fairly easy to implement inside the app. Make it happen, DJI.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
194
Reaction score
40
Age
40
I would like to be able to choose a point on the map as a home point by pressing with my finger. Example - if out on a boat and i don't quite fancy landing (choppy water or whatever), then look at the map and find a nearby flat piece of land or a field, and just send it over there if things are about to go wrong. It would be great to be able to have a failsafe landing location without having to take off from there.

I thought I'd seen that this was possible, but I can't find it anywhere in the software.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
194
Reaction score
40
Age
40
yes, sure - but there's no way to do it manually? that's not an ideal scenario as it wastes battery each time.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
No not at this point. I can imagine that would come with waypoint/ground station features if they ever come. For now the map is only informative, can't enter anything from it.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
194
Reaction score
40
Age
40
guess that's safer at least for the time being - flying over objects is one thing, but stabbing with a fat finger for a landing location is potentially risky. guess I may have to man up and attempt the catch landing for boat use. The 'disable' auto landing gear will be handy for that whenever this new firmware arrives.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2015
Messages
192
Reaction score
51
Age
37
Location
Cypress, Texas
Website
www.facebook.com
I guess I was not aware that the I1 did not support ground station...??? So when you draw on the map of the app and it creates curved lines or whatever, what is that for exactly??? I thought this was ground station course plotting.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dcbrewer
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
733
Nothing at all. At most a reference for you to look at during the flight.
Or it's a hint that they started on GS functionality but didn't get time to finish before release, who knows.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
345
Reaction score
178
Age
69
I guess I was not aware that the I1 did not support ground station...??? So when you draw on the map of the app and it creates curved lines or whatever, what is that for exactly??? I thought this was ground station course plotting.
Looks like GS software to me. I can't believe that the programming of the gs software is that difficult for DJI, giving their experience with such software. Most of the software is open source, like 3dr"s, so why don't they just look at the open source code if they have problems with their programming skills. On 3dr Tower program, you draw a flight line and then the program inserts a series of waypoints along your line for your flight. Pretty simple, and the software is open source. Maybe we have some programmers among us that can port the 3dr Tower program for the Inspire. Or better yet, program a mind control program as here:
http://www.forbes.com/sites/leoking/2015/02/25/mind-controlled-drone-scientists-work-on-groundbreaking-flight/

Enjoy life and be nice
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 25, 2015
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
48
In photo mode, hold down the shutter button for 1-2 secs. An arc will appear beside the button. The bottom selection allows interval shooting of once every 5, 7, 10, 20 or 30 secs.
I found this option but can't seem to make it work. Anybody know how?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
77
Reaction score
13
Age
42
coming from a commercial car photographer point of view, if anything that needs to change, it's the lens first. the currentl exmos sensor has already push the lens past it's limit.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
77
Reaction score
13
Age
42
Looks like GS software to me. I can't believe that the programming of the gs software is that difficult for DJI, giving their experience with such software. Most of the software is open source, like 3dr"s, so why don't they just look at the open source code if they have problems with their programming skills. On 3dr Tower program, you draw a flight line and then the program inserts a series of waypoints along your line for your flight. Pretty simple, and the software is open source. Maybe we have some programmers among us that can port the 3dr Tower program for the Inspire. Or better yet, program a mind control program as here:
http://www.forbes.com/sites/leoking/2015/02/25/mind-controlled-drone-scientists-work-on-groundbreaking-flight/

Enjoy life and be nice

you have on consider something, they cant exactly do proper testing in china because of china offset in the maps. which makes it even more confusing for them.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2015
Messages
73
Reaction score
28
Age
51
Location
Italy
I wish they will add preset movements like 3DR solo does (or should do), expanding the POI function that is not yet available. Another good feature should be "record move" in order to create a set of your own movements to be replied in different situations. This is the trend of features for drones dedicated to video shots
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
55
Reaction score
22
Age
64
I would like to see enhanced cameras with zoom capability! Waypoint programing and maybe an optional joystick type controller
 
Joined
May 16, 2015
Messages
85
Reaction score
13
Age
69
DJI Go v2 is up on app store and FW version 1.3 should be going up on DJI site shortly
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,510
Messages
191,175
Members
28,859
Latest member
Locomotive engineer