Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Gimbal Plate

Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
34
I know fully well that this is a risky move but I did it and keeping my fingers crossed. I won an inspire2 with a new X4s camera, the seller said that they told him that the gimbal plate needs to be replaced.
Text from the post: The only issues are one of the four batteries is bad, and the gimbal platform needs to be replaced. The gimbal camera needs can not communicate well with an iPad, so I’m told the gimbal platform should be replaced. He also told me that hit some branches and have never contacted DJI for repairs. My question is, was this a bad idea? Is it expensive to repair? Thanks!F041B28A-7E5B-4B9F-BBC4-06020CE426FA.jpeg
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 1, 2017
Messages
41
Reaction score
10
Age
74
I noticed this one on Ebay and also bid on it I . If it has a new camera and the gimbal needs replacing it may have hit something during a flight. My Inspire 1 V2 hit a tree and the camera still worked however, there was a 700 repair bill from DJI to get it back in spec. I passed on this one and bought a new one. The I1 and I2 are complicated and exspensive to fix. I also opted for a care pak form DJI. If the damage is just the camera mounting suspension you can fix that youself with a new part for 100.
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,057
Reaction score
5,283
I noticed this one on Ebay and also bid on it I . If it has a new camera and the gimbal needs replacing it may have hit something during a flight. My Inspire 1 V2 hit a tree and the camera still worked however, there was a 700 repair bill from DJI to get it back in spec. I passed on this one and bought a new one. The I1 and I2 are complicated and exspensive to fix. I also opted for a care pak form DJI. If the damage is just the camera mounting suspension you can fix that youself with a new part for 100.
700 and 100 what?
There are 180 currencies used in the world.
 
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
34
I noticed this one on Ebay and also bid on it I . If it has a new camera and the gimbal needs replacing it may have hit something during a flight. My Inspire 1 V2 hit a tree and the camera still worked however, there was a 700 repair bill from DJI to get it back in spec. I passed on this one and bought a new one. The I1 and I2 are complicated and exspensive to fix. I also opted for a care pak form DJI. If the damage is just the camera mounting suspension you can fix that youself with a new part for 100.
Wow! This is not a good news, but we’ll see how it goes... I haven’t received it yet but when I do, will you recommend dji or third party for repairs? I’m located in New Jersey 08902.

thanks!
 
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
34
I’ve tested and updated all firmwares, I had to also link the remote to the drone. The only problem now, is there’s no video feed to my iPhone, before I pack it up to repairs , what should I check?

thanks!
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2017
Messages
41
Reaction score
10
Age
74
This is what I thought problem was this I2 has been crashed into something. I would create a ticket with DJI support online . They will send you packing and label. You just send to them within a few days they will get you a itemized quote and you can repair. There repair is very good and less exspensive then taking to dealer.

The Ebay listing was very honest it was noted that there were problems so I doubt that you have any recourse with Ebay and seller. Seller did not have to say it was crashed into anything the overall problems were stated.

I would get it repaired I doubt that it will cost more then 500-700 unless I missed something. You still got a great drone for 2k plus repairs . I paid 3100 for the same one new so not a bad deal.

Get it fixed and enjoy it.
 
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
34
This is what I thought problem was this I2 has been crashed into something. I would create a ticket with DJI support online . They will send you packing and label. You just send to them within a few days they will get you a itemized quote and you can repair. There repair is very good and less exspensive then taking to dealer.

The Ebay listing was very honest it was noted that there were problems so I doubt that you have any recourse with Ebay and seller. Seller did not have to say it was crashed into anything the overall problems were stated.

I would get it repaired I doubt that it will cost more then 500-700 unless I missed something. You still got a great drone for 2k plus repairs . I paid 3100 for the same one new so not a bad deal.

Get it fixed and enjoy it.
Thanks!
I opened a ticket with DJI yesterday, I will be Shipping it to dji next week. The Seller is very honest, he even included a Expert Drones of NY receipt for the repairs he did when it crashed and on it, they mentioned that he did not include a camera, so they probably didn’t tested the camera function.
 
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
34
Update:
I received an invoice from DJI and it’s not looking good. I was quoted $1092 for the repairs, the most expensive part is the Main Controller Module, which is $837, the Gimbal Vibration Absorbing Board and Cable $63 (this is what the seller stated that needed to be replaced on the listing). I contacted him, not for anything but just to let him know the outcome and he felt so bad saying that he didn’t know about controller module, and I believe him. In good faith, he offered to refund me $500, which is awesome! I’m now waiting on DJI for my discount request.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
34
Update:
The drone has been Repaired/Replaced and has been shipped. I just received an email offering me a 72 hours window to purchase “DJI Refresh”, is this an error by them? Am I qualified for this? And is it worth it at this point?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Age
66
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
34
Update:
I received the drone last night, and I went to set it up and to see it’s transmitting images now from the x4s, it is! After sometime, an error popped up... please see attached D77DCDFD-83E1-4229-87EF-B0F5955A54AD.png00E774BD-0D5B-4D0B-8FC8-F63896DBB846.png
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
19,848
Messages
193,678
Members
29,215
Latest member
club388bets