Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!
Sign up

Dual Master Controller Hoping

Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
79
Reaction score
24
Age
28
Here's a bit of a left-field question (on the assumption that from memory two controllers can be paired/bound to a single aircraft but not literally connected to the aircraft at the same time):

Can you hop between two independently located remotes to regain control of an aircraft when one loses connection?

In the event of trying to fly distances beyond which a single remote will function and remain in control over the aircraft (not necessarily BLOS but restricted by terrain/environmental factors which decrease range), can a second Master controller (and operator) be stationed to intercept the aircraft?

Alternatively and simplistically, during normal flight if you turn off the Master controller can a second Master be turned on and connected to continue flight?
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,362
Reaction score
5,437
Here's a bit of a left-field question (on the assumption that from memory two controllers can be paired/bound to a single aircraft but not literally connected to the aircraft at the same time):

Can you hop between two independently located remotes to regain control of an aircraft when one loses connection?

In the event of trying to fly distances beyond which a single remote will function and remain in control over the aircraft (not necessarily BLOS but restricted by terrain/environmental factors which decrease range), can a second Master controller (and operator) be stationed to intercept the aircraft?

Alternatively and simplistically, during normal flight if you turn off the Master controller can a second Master be turned on and connected to continue flight?
Answered very simply.......
No.
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,362
Reaction score
5,437
Would you please care to elaborate where it falls apart, if only out of curioisty?
When the Inspire boots it binds with a paired remote control using a unique identifier. Although it is able to frequency hop (FHSS) it will not change its TX/RX pairing whilst still within the same boot cycle.
This is done for security (another remote taking over and stealing your aircraft for example).
If signal was lost and then regained on another remote, the aircraft would not know whether it should lock onto the first remote, the second remote or go home as per it's programming.
Although this is coming to other platforms with cellular control it is not possible on the I1 platform.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
79
Reaction score
24
Age
28
When the Inspire boots it binds with a paired remote control using a unique identifier. Although it is able to frequency hop (FHSS) it will not change its TX/RX pairing whilst still within the same boot cycle.
This is done for security (another remote taking over and stealing your aircraft for example).
If signal was lost and then regained on another remote, the aircraft would not know whether it should lock onto the first remote, the second remote or go home as per it's programming.
Although this is coming to other platforms with cellular control it is not possible on the I1 platform.
Essentially the stumbling block I thought it would have. Once a connection to a discrete Master controller has been established, it takes a reboot to be able to connect with another. Coming through with the goods yet again @The Editor !!!!

How is it going to work with cellular connections?
 

The Editor

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
10,362
Reaction score
5,437
Essentially the stumbling block I thought it would have. Once a connection to a discrete Master controller has been established, it takes a reboot to be able to connect with another. Coming through with the goods yet again @The Editor !!!!

How is it going to work with cellular connections?
Cellular is a different protocol since the infrastructure is already in place for equipment to handshake with a cell tower and hand over a live connection to another tower without loss of signal/integrity.
Effectively, the aircraft will not lose signal but just 'hand over' the established link to another cell. (Effectively doing pretty much what you are after but using different tech to do it). :)
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
1,090
Reaction score
565
Location
Silly little island off west coast of Europe
...and because it doesn't change the master controller, just the repeater it's broadcast via. It's basically exactly the same as you having a conversation with your cell phone in a moving vehicle - unless you're in an area with truly awful cell coverage, you never notice the handoff between cells, and that's how the uav would see it too.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
20,460
Messages
198,188
Members
30,007
Latest member
chaz2b